Acceleration due to gravity question.

by inertiaforce
Tags: acceleration, gravity
inertiaforce
Jan17-14, 02:08 PM
P: 37
I am not a physics professional. I just have found a casual interest in physics. I have a question about gravity.

Gravity accelerates objects at 9.8 meters per second, per second. I will round this off to 10 meters per second per second.

Does this mean that for every second, the rate of acceleration increases? In other words, after the 2nd second, the rate of acceleration is 20 meters per second? After the third second, the rate of acceleration is 30 meters per second? Is the RATE of acceleration increasing by 10 meters per second for every second so that after 20 seconds the rate of acceleration would be 200 meters per second?
Phys.Org News Partner Physics news on Phys.org
Information storage for the next generation of plastic computers
Scientists capture ultrafast snapshots of light-driven superconductivity
Progress in the fight against quantum dissipation
Doc Al
Jan17-14, 02:39 PM
Mentor
P: 40,875
Quote Quote by inertiaforce View Post
I am not a physics professional. I just have found a casual interest in physics. I have a question about gravity.

Gravity accelerates objects at 9.8 meters per second, per second. I will round this off to 10 meters per second per second.

Does this mean that for every second, the rate of acceleration increases? In other words, after the 2nd second, the rate of acceleration is 20 meters per second? After the third second, the rate of acceleration is 30 meters per second? Is the RATE of acceleration increasing by 10 meters per second for every second so that after 20 seconds the rate of acceleration would be 200 meters per second?
No, it's the speed that is increasing, not the acceleration. Speed is in meters per second and that speed increases as an object falls. The acceleration is the rate of change of that speed, in meters per second per second. That acceleration is a constant.
inertiaforce
Jan17-14, 02:46 PM