Looking for a specific material

by eedstrom
Tags: material, specific
Share this thread:
eedstrom
May1-14, 02:16 PM
P: 1
Hi,

I am a student looking for a material for a project at school. I am currently studying mechanical engineering so the chemistry and materials aspect is a bit over my head.

We're working on a concept to develop a more ergonomic chair and would like to find a material that would be comfortable to sit on.

My vision would be a bunch of gel-like spheres that could be electrically stimulated and move around due to a current passed over them. Also maybe create heat as a by product. Basically a comfortable thing to sit on that would be able to vibrate a bit.

I've been trying to find stuff online but my limited knowledge of gears and beams isn't helping too much.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Phys.Org News Partner Engineering news on Phys.org
Tricorder XPRIZE: 10 teams advance in global competition to develop consumer-focused diagnostic device
Study shows local seismic isolation and damping methods provide optimal protection for essential computing equipment
New filter technology uses inert gas to bore holes in high-quality steel
Baluncore
May3-14, 01:19 AM
Sci Advisor
Thanks
P: 1,911
Comfort comes from avoiding points of high pressure. That can be achieved by using a fluid in a shaped bag or cushion since it will distribute the load more evenly.

If the fluid was your gel-like spheres then it should be free to flow. Unfortunately gel-like spheres will probably not flow well, as they may bed into each other and form clumps. Unless they contain gas bubbles, gels behave more like liquids with a fixed volume, so the only flexibility would come from changing the packing density by distortion of the spheres.