Register to reply

Registry shifter issue concerning LED's (3min20sec)

by thatsmessedup
Tags: 3min20sec, issue, registry, shifter
Share this thread:
thatsmessedup
May24-14, 01:00 AM
P: 5
Please see the youtube video. I am relatively new to d.i.y. electronics and am a little befuddled at this issue I am having with my 74HC595N bit shifter IC.
Phys.Org News Partner Engineering news on Phys.org
Greater safety and security at Europe's train stations
Fingerprints for freight items
On the way to a safe and secure smart home
meBigGuy
May25-14, 03:25 AM
P: 1,084
clock is ringing or grounf is bouncing. Grounds are sloppy. LED causes more switched current so inductance has more effect. Try adding a small capacitor to the clock input or somewhere else to reduce the ringing or ground bounce.
thatsmessedup
May25-14, 01:48 PM
I tried adding different value capacitors to the switch and various other places. It either had no effect or made it worse. I tied putting the cap between ground and positive, before and after the switch but nothing seems to fix the issue. Do you have any other suggestions or is this something I will need to have an oscilloscope to figure out?

AlephZero
May25-14, 04:00 PM
Engineering
Sci Advisor
HW Helper
Thanks
P: 7,175
Registry shifter issue concerning LED's (3min20sec)

It would help to see a circuit diagram that shows the two places you connected the LED.

What is the power supply? Is it adequately smoothed?

I wonder if your "wrong" LED position is somehow momentarily shorting out the power supply rails when you press the switch, and the glitch in the supply voltage is causing the chaos in the shift register.
meBigGuy
May25-14, 06:34 PM
I agree --- I am making blind guesses without a schematic. It is obviously double clocking. Does it clock twice when you press, or once on press and once on release?

Put some more resistance in series with the LED. Again, just blind guessing.

Post a schematic and photo so we don't have to go to youtube.
thatsmessedup