Register to reply

Stream function along solid boundary

by TomBolton10
Tags: boundary, function, solid, stream
Share this thread:
TomBolton10
Jun5-14, 08:14 AM
P: 1
Hi, I am studying fluid mechanics and I am trying to get to grips with slip and no-slip boundaries.

I know that:

Slip ---> Occurs when fluid is inviscid so no viscous stress at boundary.
No-slip ---> Viscous effects mean the the tangential velocity must be zero, relative to the boundary.

Also, for both slip and no-slip boundary conditions you have no normal flow if the boundary is solid and impermeable.

However, the problem I have is that some say that if you have the no normal flow condition, then the stream function is constant regardless of whether it is a slip/no-slip boundary (http://scicomp.stackexchange.com/que...ream-functions). My lecturer however said that the stream function is constant only when it is a slip boundary. Any thoughts? Who is correct?
Phys.Org News Partner Engineering news on Phys.org
Researchers find security flaws in backscatter X-ray scanners
Virtual reality guides those whose memory is failing
Intelligent navigation system to personalise shopping trips
Chestermiller
Jun5-14, 10:14 PM
Sci Advisor
HW Helper
Thanks
PF Gold
P: 5,176
Quote Quote by TomBolton10 View Post
Hi, I am studying fluid mechanics and I am trying to get to grips with slip and no-slip boundaries.

I know that:

Slip ---> Occurs when fluid is inviscid so no viscous stress at boundary.
No-slip ---> Viscous effects mean the the tangential velocity must be zero, relative to the boundary.

Also, for both slip and no-slip boundary conditions you have no normal flow if the boundary is solid and impermeable.