Is the "space" between one and two infinite?

In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of infinite divisibility in mathematics and its relationship to the discrete and continuous aspects of reality. It also touches on the idea of parallel universes and their potential relationship to time and space. The conversation raises questions about the implications of infinite divisibility for studying the big bang and the possibility of a paradox in locating the beginning of time. The concept of limits and unattainable values in science is also mentioned. It is noted that the infinite divisibility of time is not proven and may not be relevant in this context.
Toppy123
Can the difference between the two numbers (one) be divided infinitely?

If so, are discrete counted numbers actually separated by an infinite "space"?

Does this relationship between the discrete and the continuous (infinite) lie at the heart of reality?

* I am not a scientist, as you may have already figure out!

Mathematics news on Phys.org
And if parallel universes are a reality, are they parallel in time as well as space? (I assume so).

If so, and if time can be divided infinitely, does that explain the idea that a parallel universe can exist "next to" our own but be infinitely far away and therefore unreachable because time (as thought of as the "space" between one thing and another) can be divided infinitely? In other words, we can never inhabit the same time as the parallel universe.

* I may be talking nonsense, but I am curious and willing to learn!

Toppy123 said:

Does this relationship between the discrete and the continuous (infinite) lie at the heart of reality?

In mathematics, the space between one and two is indeed infinitely divisible. In fact, between any two distinct numbers, you can find infinitely many other numbers.

Can the difference between the two numbers (one) be divided infinitely