Biochemistry, Organic Chemistry, and General Biology

In summary, a rising sophomore with a double major in microbiology and chemistry is seeking guidance on course selection for the upcoming Fall Semester. They are wondering if taking both organic chemistry and biochemistry is a good idea. While biochemistry is based on the principles of organic chemistry, other students have mentioned that it can be studied without taking organic chemistry simultaneously. The student is currently self-studying organic chemistry for their research and is wondering if they should take both courses. They also inquire about the weight of general biology on higher biological fields. It is recommended to check the course calendar for required prerequisites and consult with an undergraduate academic advisor if further questions arise. General biology is typically a prerequisite for more advanced courses in the field.
bacte2013
Hello!

I am a rising sophomore with double major in a microbiology and a chemistry. I wrote this thread because I need a guidance in the course selection for the upcoming Fall Semester. Is taking both organic chemistry and biochemistry a good idea? I know that the biochemistry is based on the principles of organic chemistry, but I often heard from other students that the biochemistry can be studied without or with organic chemistry simultaneously. I am currently studying the organic chemistry on my own (mainly for my research) by using the textbooks made by Hornback, Clayden, and Wade. Should I take both courses? Also how much weight the general biology carries on the studying of higher biological fields such as microbiology, molecular biology, genetics, etc.?

Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org