Converting metric to imperial (12in/1ft)^3

In summary, the author of the book got the equation for converting g to lbm wrong, but there is a program available online that can do the conversion for you.
C3ss4
Hello. I am new to engineering and to imperial units, and currently learning by doing some exercises. I'm stuck on the following conversion:

• 0.04 g / min x m^3 -> lbm / hr x ft^3
    I figured it like this:
  • 0.04 g / min x m^3 x (60min/1hr) x (1m/35,314)^3 x (1 lbm / 454g) =
    1,49x10^-4 lbm / ft^3 x hr

However, the author of the book gives the following solution:

• 0.04 g / min x m^3 x (60min/1hr) x (12in/1ft)^3 x (1 lbm / 454g) =
    9.14 lbm / ft^3 x hr

It really lost me, why (12in/1ft)^3 its supposed to cancel out m^3? He does the same on a similar exercise converting cm^2 with (12in/1ft)^2.

Thanks for your time and help.

Engineering news on Phys.org
Looks like the book has got it wrong.
Maybe there was a typo or OCR error where "in" became "m".

What book? what author? have you checked the web for an errata ?

Not yet, but i will check. I was also thinking than the book might be wrong because really made no sense.

Thanks for your help :)

Found new information:

Since 12in = 1ft, you can get a one by dividing both sides of the equation by 1ft, giving 12in / 1ft= 1. Because the result is 1, and the units can cancel out it makes sense after all.

Last edited:
You were right the first time, the book has it wrong (yes, it does happen sometimes).
You can evaluate the equation directly using a program called calchemy. Here is it's "evaluation" of the equation:

0.04 g / min m^3 ? lbm / hr ft^3
(0.04 * gramm) / (minute * [meter^3]) ? poundm / (hour * [foot^3])
= 0.00014982723 lbm / hr ft^3

The program runs on iPhone, but there is a "web" version at:
http://www.testardi.com/rich/calchemy2/
that you can use for free, just cut and paste the equation above to give it a try (first line)