Question about RF absorbers and radar

• Thread starter GlennGlenn
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Radar Rf
In summary: If you want to maximize performance, use a high-gain horn (which, however, will have a smalll field of view) and choose a receiver/detector with lowest noise figure and best sensitivity. These are often traded off against cost for products like radar detectors where competition is fierce and selling price is important.If the surface errors are less than one tenth of the wavelength, then they will not be visible to the radiation, so at that wavelength it will appear to be a mirror.
GlennGlenn
Hi everyone , new to forum, but not new to forums. I am a radar detector hobbyist and have some knowledge of how radar works. Specifically and to be on point and productive, here's my question(s):

First, are there any materials readily available to general consumers that will readily absorb X, K and Ka band radar? For example, I am looking for a material such as a flexible foam or sheet material that will absorb 33.8, 34.7 and 35.5 ghz radar ? Ka is considered wide band and X and K are less wide. I have searched and done my homework, but many of the foams only absorb a certain band of K Or Ka radar. They don't do the whole spectrum. Eccosorb is one such material.

Second, regarding a radar horn ( receiver) , would it be possible and/or beneficial to either polish the interior of the horn with a Dremel to reduce attenuation of the signal the horn receives OR gold plate the interior of the horn to retain the signal captured. Thoughts? I am not an EE and just a hobbyist with some questions. Thanks in advance.

Engineering news on Phys.org
Student100 said:
Hey, how does this look?

I wouldn't mess with the horn.

nice stuff
I dread to think what the price per metre2 would be tho

cheers
Dave

Thanks for the link, looks good. I wonder if it'll absorb higher Ghz such as Ka 33 .8/34.7/35.5?