Tags: living, things, viruses
Share this thread:
Math Is Hard
Sep4-05, 12:13 AM
Emeritus
Sci Advisor
PF Gold
P: 4,923
I noticed that we give them certain names (I was reading a science journal this weekend about a "phi-6 bacteriophage"). If they don't belong to a kingdom, do they have a domain? If not, what's the classification structure used? Sorry -I am very new at this.
Phys.Org News Partner Biology news on Phys.org
Honey bees sting Texas man about 1,000 times
Study indicates large raptors in Africa used for bushmeat
The microbes make the sake brewery
honestrosewater
Sep4-05, 12:59 AM
PF Gold
P: 2,330
I just thought this was an interesting question and googled a bit. It appears that viruses have their own taxonomy.
Universal, unambiguous virus taxonomy (naming and categorization) is vital for distinguishing the thousands of viruses which have been isolated from humans, animals, plants, fungi, bacteria, and archae.
- http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/ICTVdb/ICTVdB/index.htm
The ICTV seems to be the head honcho in the virus department. Seventh Report of the International Committee on Taxonomy of Viruses
Doesn't really answer your question, but maybe it will be helpful later.
Moonbear
Sep4-05, 07:28 AM
Emeritus
Sci Advisor
PF Gold
P: 12,271
The difficulty with viruses is that biologists just aren't sure if they should be classified as living organisms. For example, they can't reproduce on their own, but instead require host cells for replication, and the retroviruses don't even have DNA but carry only RNA instead. They are distinctly in that gray area between things we can say with certainty are living and things we can say with certainty are non-living.

pattylou
Sep4-05, 09:28 AM
P: 1,036
Viruses aren't living things but..

Classification is based on several things.

-DNA vs. RNA genome
-Single stranded vs. double stranded genome