Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

100m sprint at light speed.

1. Aug 4, 2010 #1
    Help me out please. I need a definitive comment for a book I'm writing. Hypothetically - if Usain Bolt were to approach (c) in a 100m sprint - his mass would become infinite right? basic E=Mc2.

At inifinite mass - space-time would warp (correct?). And light would bend (right?)

Can I say that time will appear to slow down to an observer (spectator) watching Usain in motion?

Note: I am an economist not a physicist. So please dont shoot me down if I have it wrong. Correct me. But I really need a good answer. Many thanks!
  2. jcsd
  3. Aug 4, 2010 #2
    Hi there,

Not an expert in this field either, but
    True, but not with this equation. This tells us only that energy and mass are closely related. His mass would follow something like this:

Not from what I understand of it. The space-time dimension would change for Usain, but not for you that is watching him. For the bendin light, and again from your point of view, it would be hard for light to bend around him, since he would be moving at the same speed.

Once again, not from my understanding of the sîtuation. Nothing happened to you, therefore, why would time/space or any other dimension change just because he is running. But these parameters would change for him.

Now, as I said, I am not an expert in relativity. So if I made mistakes, I am also here to learn something new.

4. Aug 4, 2010 #3

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

This depends on what you mean by "warp." To me, that word could refer to two different things: (1) The difference in the perception of flat spacetime between two observers in different states of motion. (2) Curvature of spacetime.