Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

2 Space Elevators?

1. Mar 23, 2012 #1
    Hello

I am new to thinking about these kinds of things so please forgive me if what I suggest is pure nonsense LOL!

As I understand it the main problem with building the traditional model of a space elevator is a practical one based on the difficulty in manufacturing a cable made of nanocarbon which can support its own weight below geostationary orbit.

Perhaps there is a way around this. Perhaps we can develop a model which reduces, or nearly eliminates the payload on the cable.

If we were to build 2 space elevators, one on either side of the Earth in perfect balance, with a land and ocean based cable circling the Earth and connecting the two, wouldn't that neutralize the payload on the cable? That way we could possibly construct the cable out of more traditional materials, like kevlar??

Thanks

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 23, 2012 #2
    How would that neutralize the payload? Gravity is pulling down. A cable pulling sideways would not help anything. And I don't think you appreciate how big the earth it. A cable long enough to go all the way around the earth to connect two elevators in the air would sag till it touched the earth and snap under its own weight in the process.

4. Mar 23, 2012 #3
    Thanks very much for the reply.

I was thinking the two space elevators would be exactly opposite from each other, on either ends of the Earth so that the effects of gravity and centrifugal force would be in equilibrium.

The cable would wrap around the Earth on the ground, not in the air and shouldn't snap due to the equilibrium of the system (I'm trying my best here lol). If the circumference of the Earth is 40,000 km we would be adding, from what I understand, about 20% more cable, which, if made out of something other than carbon nanotubes, might very well be feasible.