Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

2D Heat Conductivity

1. May 9, 2010 #1
    Please Help,

I am not an mechanical engineer but am trying to learn Finite Element Methods to solve a 2D Steady State Heat Conductivity problem.

Can anyone point me to an exact solution to the 2D Heat conductivity problem? Please be gentle, I have not had a physics class since 8th grade although I have taken calculus. My idea is to solve a specific 2D model analytically and then compare this exact solution to a solution that I will generate using FEM approximation equation.

Thanks.:smile:

2. jcsd
  3. May 9, 2010 #2
    Given your limited background, I would highly suggest going through a 1D problem. If that it something you are interested in, I would be happy to help. Let me know. :smile:

4. May 9, 2010 #3

Mapes

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

There is no single solution to the steady-state heat equation (which, for uniform thermal conductivity and no heat generation, is just Laplace's equation [itex]\nabla^2T=0[/itex]). Various boundary conditions will result in different solutions.

As Saladsamurai suggested, 1D is a good way to get your feet wet. The equation is identical, but the solution is always a line (or, if heat generation exists, a parabola).

5. May 10, 2010 #4
    Thanks for the reply's.

I took your suggestions and did the 1D Heat Conduction problem. I finished it and it looks correct. Of course there is a lot of information on the web on the 1D problem, but the 2D is another issue.:confused:

6. May 10, 2010 #5

Mapes

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member