Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Aerospace 2nd Masters or PhD?

1. Jan 8, 2013 #1
    Hi All,

I very much want to become part of the growing off-world industry. Companies like those dreaming of asteroid mining really pique my interests. In particular, I'd like to be involved with design and implementation of robotic systems.

I have an MSEE, and though I've been out of the industry for about 10 years, I have around 15 years experience as an embedded systems software/hardware engineer in broadcast television.

Aside from personal enrichment, it seems a degree in Space Studies, like the Masters or Doctorate program offered by the University of North Dakota, might be a good way to shift into the field.

I'm looking for opinions on a couple things...

1. Outside of academia, would I be much more marketable with a doctorate than with just a second masters in space studies?

2. I'm at a point in my life where I need to be able to return to school via a distance program. Does anyone have any pointers to other good "online" graduate programs in this area?

Thanks for the help,
    Jeff

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 8, 2013 #2
    By way of clarification, I'm not entirely crazy. I know I'm not currently qualified to enter an aerospace doctoral program. I'm not sure what I'm missing to be able to enter a master's program. These are ultimate goals, far away though they may be.

4. Jan 9, 2013 #3