1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

38 years old and confused

1. Sep 30, 2012 #1
    Hi, I have just a few basic questions. I was in the army for about 6 years then worked as a CCNA for about 6 years before being layed off, entire company was farmed out to Philippians I believe. I am a disabled vet with a wife and 2 year old. I was accepted into the VA's chapter 31 program which basically pays for my secondary education 100% plus a monthly stipend. I have bounced around a couple years and have wanted to go into physics but I read on forums that I am too old and that if my math skill set is average I will struggle to much (my business buddies think this).

My math used to be sharper, but I took algebra 101, trig and brief calculus, did ok in algebra (except for logs I start to struggle some) did pretty good in trig and struggled with a 5 week business calculus class. I passed with a C but I usually get B+'s to A's in most classes.

I guess I am just unsure if switching now is wise as it would be almost like starting over. Here is a link to the recommend coarse sequence. I would have to start with a lower physics class for the prereq for phys 211. http://physics.unl.edu/undergrad/Phys_Major_Sequence_12_2_22.pdf

Also, is University of Nebraska a good place to take physics? I looked at a couple rankings and it is not even listed so I am guessing its just average.

Here is the class load I would take if I took the professional track of physics at UNL.
    http://bulletin.unl.edu/undergraduate/major/Physics