Free 3D Design Program for Mechanical Engineers

In summary, there are a few free, fairly easy to use programs available, but they may not be suitable for more complex design work. Sketchup and blender are both good for simple designs, but may not be suitable for more complex work. Autocad Inventor and ProE are more sophisticated, but may be too expensive for some.
TS656577
I'm currently a mechanical engineer and in the required courses is a 3D design program class where we design things such as 3d engines and other things. I know they probably use expensive programs, but is there a free, fairly easy to use program out there that I can download and use on my home pc?

Computer science news on Phys.org
Try http://www.blender.org"

Last edited by a moderator:
Blender is an excellent animation tool but doesn't work in the same way as parametric CAD systems like Autocad Inventor or ProE.
There used to be a free version of ProE called pro-desktop, it's discontinued but might be out there somewhere. Can you get access to a student copy of Autocad ?

how about BRL-CAD?

have a look http://my.brlcad.org/d/about"

Last edited by a moderator:
The trouble is that there are two main approaches
Blender and most rendering/animation tools build up models from simpler shapes or curves. It looks at quick glance that BRL-cad does this, it was popular in the early 3d packages like autocad3d

Autocad Inventor/ProE/Cadestra etc 3D mechanical cad packages use constraints. You sketch an outline of a part, then add constraints such as these two sides are parallel, this hole is in the middle etc. When there exactly enough constraints the part becomes a model. This ensures that the finished 3D model is buildable - animation tools will let you create Escher style models that cannot exist.

Learning this constraint sketching technique is important if you are doing mechanical cad. Although the shape based system is quicker to produce simple models.