Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

3D Schrödinger Equation for a magnetic vector potential in cylinder coordinates

1. Jun 21, 2011 #1
    Hi there,
    during my work on my PhD thesis as an experimental physicist I ended up with a very theoretical problem:
    What does the wavefunction of an electron travelling through a magnetic vector potential look like?

I chose a cylindrical coordinate system with a magnetic vector potential A (see eq (1) and (2)) for which I want to solve the Schrödinger equation (3). As there shall be no other potentials present the Hamilton operator looks like equation (4).

Using the considerations for the vector potential my differential equation looks like equation (5). In a first attempt I tried the usual separation of variables (equation (6)) which leads to two differential equations (7) and (8), in which R & Z and R & [itex]\Theta[/itex] are coupled.

schrodinger-vector-potential.png

Has anybody an idea on how to solve this "beast"?

Thank you

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 21, 2011 #2

hunt_mat

Homework Helper

I don't think that you have written an equation down that we can solve, you haven't said what is constant and what isn't. For example is E a constant?

If I get your notation, I think that (8) is wrong.

4. Jun 21, 2011 #3
    Hi Mat,
    as usual m,e and E are constants (mass, charge and kinetic energy of an electron).
    I did not bother to insert for [itex]A²[/itex], but that would be equal to [itex]1/r²[/itex] or [itex]1/r²_0[/itex] ([itex]r_0[/itex] is an arbitrary constant].

If you have any other regards why equation (8) should be wrong, please let me know.

CU Andi

5. Jun 21, 2011 #4

hunt_mat

Homework Helper

Does your last term in (5) equal your last term in (8)? If that is the case and you are dividing through by [itex]\psi[/itex] then the last term in (8) should just be [itex]eA^{2}[/itex] (I think)