Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

7 minute video about ghosts

1. Jan 10, 2004 #1

Ivan Seeking

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Obviously we don't know anything about the credibility of these videos and pictures. This is just for your entertainment folks.

Requires flash:
    http://www.ebaumsworld.com/ghosts.html

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 10, 2004 #2
    A lot of the pictures were just examples of apophenia. A few looked like double exposures to me (although I'm not a photographic expert).

None of the pictures were particularly impressive. Still, it was almost amusing.

4. Jan 10, 2004 #3
    master_coda,

I must bow to you or introducing me to the word "apophenia". Recently, I needed this word badly but did not know it existed. I have been trying to explain this phenomenon to people by explaining the effect discovered by Russian filmmaker, Eisenstein, who found that if he showed someone photographs of two unrelated people at the same time, they would assume a connection and speculate as to what it was.

Here is a detailed discussion of apophenia I found in The Skeptic's Dictionary:

apophenia
    Address:http://skepdic.com/apophenia.html

5. Jan 10, 2004 #4
    Interestingly enough, I learned that word from reading that website.

6. Jan 11, 2004 #5

Ivan Seeking

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

What would be impressive? What does a ghost actually look like?

I would say that some look like examples of apophenia and many could have been double exposures. Since I don't know what a ghost might look like, its a little hard to judge.

Again, what would be impressive?

7. Jan 11, 2004 #6
    Good point...there isn't really anything that a flash video posted on the Net could have done that would have been impressive.

Still, I was hoping for something that wasn't filled with such obvious fakes.

8. Jan 11, 2004 #7