1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

A basic Coulomb's Law question

1. Jul 20, 2011 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    I am a maths teacher retraining in physics, haven't recieved my text book yet but attempting the course work, I have the answer to this question and the mathematic skills to solve it, but the notes don't give any worked examples so I have no idea how to go from the law to the answer.

q. A charge q1 is located at x=1 m, y=0. What should you use for the unit vector r in Coulomb's law if you are calculating the force that q1 exerts on charge q2 located at the point x=0 y=1m

2. Relevant equations

The law I have is F_{12}=[(kq1q2)/r^2]r

3. The attempt at a solution

And I understand the question wants a vector answer and with my maths skills I drew the points and worked out that the distance from q1 to q2 is sqrt(2) and I know the answer is the vector

-sqrt(2)/2 i + sqrt(2)/2 j

Where does the negative come from and why is it over 2? I know this is a silly question but my lecture notes go from the law to this question. I assume the text book will shed more light but I was just trying to understand this part before moving on.

Thanks to anyone that has time for this :)

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 20, 2011 #2
    If q1 is exerting a charge on q2 then what direction is the force acting? Hopefully that will clear up the minus sign troubles.

Also, since r is a UNIT vector it must have a magnitude of one and yet still have the same direction. edit: Keep in mind [itex] \frac{1}{\sqrt{2}} = \frac{\sqrt{2}}{2}[/itex]
    edit : I should also add that this question doesn't really have anything to do with the law. It is a vector question rather than a force calculation, which would require the use of Coulomb's Law.