A biological semiconductor?

In summary: Intanon, a physicist at the University of California, Irvine, has proposed using a quantum computer to simulate proteins.In summary, scientists are trying to find ways to simulate proteins using a quantum computer in order to better understand them. This would be a very difficult task, and may not be possible for some time.
GNRtau
Right, so I'm a freshman in college right now, so if I'm wrong, I'm wrong.

Would it be possible to get a biological system to imitate or act like a semiconductor or nanoelectronic device or is that a fantasy? Does anyone here have experience doing it? Or perhaps use nanoelectronics to solve biological problems by integrating them with the human body on a cellular level?

Who knows, I might end up doing my Phd thesis on this!(just a joke...)

Engineering news on Phys.org
Biological systems can imitate passive analog audio circuits (or vice versa). In the case of insect binaural directional hearing, both the cricket and certain flies have internal structures to convert a binaural amplitude disparity to a constant amplitude phase difference.

Wow, haven't looked at this for a while, forgot about it. Sorry for reproducing an old discussion, but I'll check these out. I've also found a couple of a papers on the subject, trying to learn more.

I'm guessing this is a multidisciplinary line of research, but what sort of courses would be useful in order to get into a field doing this?

For anyone interested, here is a good one I found. http://www.nature.com/nature/journal/v468/n7323/full/468516a.html

Last edited by a moderator:
GNRtau,

Would it be possible to get a biological system to imitate or act like a semiconductor or nanoelectronic device or is that a fantasy?