1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

A BSc by correspondance

1. Oct 5, 2007 #1
    I have been working in the IT field for over 6 years. I am very interested in mathematics and physics. Since I have a fulltime job and a family, it is not feasible for me to return to school at this stage in my life. Is it possible to complete a BSc in mathematics or physics through correspondance courses? Are there any repectable institutions out there that offer mathematics or physics courses through correspondance at the bachelors level?
  2. jcsd
  3. Oct 5, 2007 #2
    I'm not sure if there are... however, even in math, I think it would be tough to get a degree without taking some lab courses. That might be tough to do from afar ;)

Good luck though! I think some California school offers Masters degrees in engineering all from online courses... so I suppose it might be possible.
  4. Oct 5, 2007 #3

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

I don't know which country you are in, but it is definitely possible to study long distance in the UK-- the Open University is a very reputable university-- however in other countries I'm not sure: I can't see why not though!
  5. Oct 5, 2007 #4

Homework Helper
    Education Advisor
    Gold Member