1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

A few problems

1. Nov 19, 2006 #1
    magnetism and electric fields

Hello all. I'm new to this, but I would really appreciate any help, I'm absolutely terrible at physics....

1) In a trial of Millikan's oil drop experiment, we find that the electric field required to suspend a tiny oil particle with mass 1.46x10^-14 kg is 2.98x10^5 N/C upward. We can infer that the oil particle

a) is missing three electrons
    b) is missing two electrons
    c) has three extra electrons
    d) has two extra electrons

I worked through this problem to the best of my ability and figured that q=4.8x10^-19 when it should equal 1.6x10^-14. So that means there are either three extra or three missing, but I can't seem to figure out which one. I thought three extra, but I could be wrong. Any hints?

3) An electrons 'falls' toward a proton from far away. If it started with zero velocity, how fast is it moving when it gets to a typical atomic distance of 1.0x10^-10 m from the proton?

a) 3.2x10^6 m/s
    b) 2.2x10^6 m/s
    c) 1.6x10^6 m/s
    d) 1.1x10^6 m/s

I used the conservation of energy, PE=KE, which gave me m*a*d/q=.5m*v^2. For some reason I got 1.1x10^5, which is close to d but I have a feeling I did something wrong.

3) The Earth's magnetic field above the Earth's equator is about 10^-4 T northward. If a proton is initially moving upward at 5x10^5 m/s, it will

a) curve east, making a circle with r=50m
    b) curve west, making a circle with r=50m
    c) curve east, making a circle with r=3 cm
    d) curve west, making a circle with r=3 cm
    e) keep moving in a straight path