Is an AEA in Maths worth taking?

• Programs
  • Thread starter Smudger
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Degree
In summary, the student is considering taking an AEA in maths, but is unsure if it's worth doing if they don't pass. They are also looking for advice on unis to attend.
Smudger
Good evening guys.

OK, I'm a 6th form student about to go to year 13. I took Maths Physics and English Langauge this year but I'm certain I've failed English Language. I won't be resitting it next year, but will be taking AS further maths.

Firstly, is it worth taking an AEA in Maths? I'm thinking about it but incase I don't pass that, would that be viewed as a negative.

Secondly, does anyone have any advice on unis to look at. At this stage I'm expecting to be looking at A maths, B or C Physics E 'AS' English and I have no idea about 'AS' FM yet.

Physics news on Phys.org
Smudger said:
Good evening guys.

OK, I'm a 6th form student about to go to year 13. I took Maths Physics and English Langauge this year but I'm certain I've failed English Language. I won't be resitting it next year, but will be taking AS further maths.

Firstly, is it worth taking an AEA in Maths? I'm thinking about it but incase I don't pass that, would that be viewed as a negative.
Unless you're looking to apply to one of the top universities, I wouldn't bother and would just concentrate on your a levels.

Secondly, does anyone have any advice on unis to look at. At this stage I'm expecting to be looking at A maths, B or C Physics E 'AS' English and I have no idea about 'AS' FM yet.
Well, you're only going to have two a levels and two as levels, so I wouldn't say you'd be able to get into many of the top unis (they tend to require ABB as a minimum). I don't know though; look on the UCAS website for entry requirements.