1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

A little help please.

1. May 8, 2010 #1
    This may be long winded but please bear with me if you will.

I went to school for Physics. Long enough ago that my education is irrelevant, or at least to me it seems that way. To pay my way through school i worked in restaurants, and i was verry good at my job. So when i graduated college in 2002 i stayed in the industry mostly because i could not, or due to the fact that i was immature, had any desire to continue school. I am currently relatively high in the food chain in the restaurant world. Here comes the problem.

I have two real passions, and am only what you could consider knowledgeable in one. Physics(passion), and bodybuilding(passion and knowledge). Well on the eve of my 30th birthday i am thinking about what i have done wiht my life and what i really like to do. It boils down to reading about the universe and how it works, granted at an elementary level, and moving heavy stuff.

Now i have decided that to be happy i NEED to study physics. I don't know where to start. Coming out of highschool the decision was easy, get a part time job and go to school. In the real world that isnt so easy. I didnt do well in college, even failed a course due to attendance, even though my grades were in the 90% range. I would assume that the best option would be to start from scratch.

But even now basic algebra is almost foreign to me. I am not really sure how to start from scratch, and would appreciate any advice. Thank you.

2. jcsd
  3. May 10, 2010 #2