Exploring Quantum Physics Problems with a Charged Particle in a Confined Box

In summary: The second one is a bit more straightforward, I just used the Schrodinger equation and found the energy eigenvalues and eigenfunctions. 3.) The third one is a bit more complicated, I'm still trying to understand it. 4.) The fourth one is a bit more complicated still. 5.) The fifth one is the easiest, just use the Schrodinger equation and solve for the energy.
William Mitzger
I'm a high school student at East Mecklenburg HS in North Carolina. I'm working on some quantum physics problems as part of a non-graded extra assignment for a higher-level physics course offered at my high school. Our teacher has said we can ask anyone, besides fellow students, for assistance as long as we can solve the problems and explain the solutions. The assignment isn't for a grade, and is more to see if any of us can do it than anything else. If you have the time, I hope you can offer some insight into these questions:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Q1) A particle of mass "m" and charge "q" is confined to a one dimensional box whose sides at x=0 and x=a. A measurement of the energy shows that the particle is in the second (first excited) energy eigenstate. At time t=0 the wall at x=a is suddenly moved to x=b with b>a/

a) find the relation between a and b so that the energy is unchanged.
b) find the probability that the energy remains unchanged.

Q2) An atom with no permanent magnetic moment is said to be diamagnetic and has an induced diamagnetic moment mu=-d(DELTA E)/dB where DELTA E is the change in energy when the atom is placed in a magnetic field B. Find the induced diamagnetic moment for the hydrogen atom in its ground state when a weak magnetic field is applied. (Note the derivative is a partial derivative.)