Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

A Physics type of integral

1. Jul 17, 2003 #1
    In my calculus course I was tough to solve differential equations by separation and then integrating
    For instance
    dv/dt = a
    dv = a*dt
    v= a*t + c (c is a constant of integration)
    then if I was given an initial condition such as v(0)=Vo I would substitute into my general solution
    and get
    Now that I started learning physics I keep coming across this funny way of solving differential equations:
    [inte] dv=
    [inte] a*dt
    Why does this second method work. I realize that it is probably somehow equivalent to the first I just don’t see it. I would really like to know how and why this second method works.
  2. jcsd
  3. Jul 17, 2003 #2
    What you are doing is basically applying the chain rule
    You have an original fuction f(v). It turns out that v itself is a fuction of t, say v(t).
    The differential gives
    dv = v'(t)dt
    or in Leibnitz notion
    dv = (dv/dt) dt. You can see this be saying the dt's cancel out. This is of course wrong, as any mathematician will tell you, but in practice it makes working with differential easier.

Now all you do is apply the chain rule to the given integral so that

[inte]dv =

[inte](dv/dt)dt with then saying physics-wise that dv/dt=a

Say when you replace the funtion of v the function of t, you adjust the boundries of the integral by putting the argument of the function there instead of the it's value. So generally putting a instead of f(a).

Consult any freshman calculus text for a brief proof of this if you don't believe me (and you shouldn't :smile: )
  4. Jul 17, 2003 #3
    You answer doesn’t really answer my questing. I was basically asking why the method works, so I guess I was asking for a proof.