Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

A question about charts

1. Jan 25, 2016 #1
    I am studying differential geometry and I stumbled on something that I don't understand. When we have a m- dim differential manifold, with U_i and U_j open subsets of M with their corresponding coordinate 20160125_093821.jpg
    function phi. As can be seen in the figure.

If I understand it correctly phi_j of a point gives us a coordinate of that point. So what does the inverse of a coordinate function do? And how come the product of phi_i * phi_j = psi takes us between subsets?

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 25, 2016 #2

fresh_42

Staff: Mentor

The idea behind is that charts are a locally Euclidean map (coordinates) of the (curved) manifold. Just as street maps in an atlas are. Earth isn't flat, but locally we can pretend it is. This concept requires that overlapping charts are identical on their intersection.
    The image in the textbook says ##φ_i|_{U_i ∩ U_j} = Ψ_i \cdot φ_j|_{U_i ∩ U_j}##.

4. Jan 26, 2016 #3

Erland

Science Advisor

It is ##\phi_i\phi_j^{-1}## which maps a subset of ##U'_j## to a subset of ##U'_i##, as is written on the page you scanned near the right margin on the upper half.

5. Jan 27, 2016 #4
    So that [tex]$\Psi$[\tex] maps between different subsets comes from a definition?

6. Jan 27, 2016 #5

Samy_A

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Yes.
    Set ##U_{ij}=U_i \cap U_j##, and assume that ##U_{ij}\neq \varnothing##
    ##\Psi_{ij}## by definition maps ##\phi_j(U_{ij})## to ##\phi_i(U_{ij})##.
    ##\Psi_{ij}## being infinitely differentiable is the condition imposed in (iv) for M to be an m-dimensional differentiable manifold.

As said above you can view ##\Psi_{ij}## as a coordinate transformation. Point (iv) in the definition requires these transformations to be infinitely differentiable.

The book explains it better than I could, actually: