Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

A question need solution

1. May 3, 2013 #1
    please help.
    i'm studying about VVER, but i meat dificult when i found document.
    who can help me know: why VVER's Steam Generation has structure horizontal?
    with this design what advantages and disadvantage when we compare with design that have vertical Steam Generation? (PWR or BWR)
    thank so much.

2. jcsd
  3. May 3, 2013 #2

Astronuc

Staff: Mentor

These are good questions. The following article attempts to answer or at least explore these questions.

Steam generators – horizontal or vertical (which type should be used in nuclear power plants with VVER?). Atomic Energy - Volume 105, Issue 3, pp 165-174, September 2008
    N. B. Trunov, B. I. Lukasevich, D. O. Veselov, Yu. G. Dragunov

http://link.springer.com/article/10.1007/s10512-008-9090-1

4. May 4, 2013 #3

jim hardy

Science Advisor
    Gold Member
    2016 Award

I believe the reason for vertical steam generators is not a matter of performance , it's just they take less floor space than a horizontal steam drum. A big part of a plant's cost is the containment building. It is made however big it needs to be to contain the steam resulting from a worst case pipe rupture and no bigger. Recall the first PWR's had to fit inside a submarine hull.

The vertical steam generators in our PWR exhibit large changes in indicated level when pressure changes.
    Look at page 13 here:
    http://mitnse.files.wordpress.com/2011/03/pwr_plant_04.pdf
    on the right side you'll see two instrument taps that are not far apart vertically. The level sensors connected there are called "Narrow Range" because they only cover the operating range not the full height of the steam generator.