Calculate Money Owed Between A, B & C in Shared Apartment Flat

• Thread starter hkBattousai
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Life
In summary, the three friends, A, B, and C, rented an apartment together and split the cost of all household goods equally. Now that they are going their separate ways, they are using a drawing to decide who gets which household items. The function f is defined as the amount of money that one person pays to another based on what they end up taking. For example, if A takes 1/2 of the goods, they would have to pay (1/2 - 1/3)T to the common bank account, while B would pay (3/8 - 1/3)T and C would receive (1/3 - 1/8)T. Alternatively, they could settle it directly by
hkBattousai
I'm a collage student, I rented an apartment flat with my 2 friends. We bought all house things by each of us paying 1/3 of their price.

An now we are to break apart, I decided to make a drawing (like lottery) to decide who take which house hold.

Assume that,
A, B, C: Names of three people
T: Total cost of all household goods
N: Total number of all all household goods
ai: Cost of element of set of the household goods that A takes as a result of the drawing
bi: Cost of element of set of the household goods that B takes as a result of the drawing
ci: Cost of element of set of the household goods that C takes as a result of the drawing
m: Number of household goods that A takes as a result of the drawing
n: Number of household goods that B takes as a result of the drawing
k: Number of household goods that C takes as a result of the drawing

Can you give me the function f defined as,
f(person1, person2): Amount of money that person1 pays to person2
in terms of the parameters listed above.

Mathematics news on Phys.org
It only depends on what each person ends up taking, since everyone has already paid 1/3, doesn't it?

So suppose A takes 1/2 of all the goods, B takes 3/8 and C takes 1/8.