Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

A shorter proof to 0.999 = 1

1. May 17, 2005 #1
    Here is Blizzard's proof that 0.999... = 1

http://www.blizzard.com/press/040401.shtml

My friend however, recently mentioned that:

1/3 = 0.333...

1.3 * 3 = 0.333... * 3

1 = 0.999... also works.

Has she discovered the shortest proof? Or is there something wrong here?

2. jcsd
  3. May 17, 2005 #2
    This is perfectly right. I don't know if there's a "shortest proof", but your friend's certainly is short.

I'm somehow a newbie here, but I used to visit Tom's Hardware Guide's forums, and there's an interesting topic with... various "opinions" on the subject on it. Check it out here

4. May 18, 2005 #3
    There is, ofcourse,

1/9 = 0.111....
    multiply be nine
    1 = 0.999.....

5. May 18, 2005 #4

Integral

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

I made a few contribution to that thread. SilverPig started that thread to see if the response was significantly different from a similar thread in the HiTech Forum at anantech, Which I also participated in.

It was very disappointing that the majority of members of Anantech and Toms felt that it was not true.

6. May 18, 2005 #5

matt grime

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

That isn't a proof. Why is arithmetic deinfed on infinitely long decimals? In short, you're confusing real numbers with their representations as decimals. The fact that they are equal is immediate from the definition of the real numbers, not that anyone who thinks they're different even knows what the real numbers are.

7. May 18, 2005 #6
    Matt - don't become worried - it isn't meant to be a proof - it is just a cunning trick used by high school mathematics teachers to trick their students and to make them think.

No one is really saying that 0.9 recurring equals 1

Regards

Ben

8. May 18, 2005 #7

matt grime

Science Advisor