Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

A simple question about current and voltage

1. Jan 11, 2008 #1
    I'm sorry guys but i just couldn't go through all the previous topics to find out if my question has been answered before...Its not a homework related question or anything but just a thing that has been buzzing me..I'm in my first year in electrical engineering.

I think that before any current flows in a branch of a circuit, it knows which path its going to take and how many is going to flow in branch A and how many is going to flow in branch B......am I right about this?

If I am then is this due to voltage which i think of as the "drawing power" of the current in the circuit...is this also right?

many thanks guys, this is my first post and i'm glad I found this forum.

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 11, 2008 #2

Staff: Mentor

No, it's more like a Pachinko machine:

Where gravity supplies the accelerating force (like the voltage), and the balls fall down through various paths, encountering different amounts of resistance based on how many pins are in the way, and how much the balls back up against the various resistive paths....

Does that help?
  4. Jan 11, 2008 #3
    but when the current encounters branching what determines how many will go in which branch...i know of course its the resistance but "the current" doesn't...

and so voltage IS after all the drawing power or the driving force of the current right?

thanks for the incredibly quick reply
  5. Jan 11, 2008 #4

Staff: Mentor

Look at the way the balls bunch up and slow down when they encounter a higher resistance in the various Pachinko paths. I think that's the best visual analogy that you'll get as to why some balls seem to "prefer" the lower resistance path -- they bounce off of the backed up balls at the top of the high resistance path, and end up falling down the easier path more quickly.