A simple question about probability theory

In summary, the book says that the equation ##P(A \setminus B) = P(A) - P(B)## comes from Kolmogorov axioms. However, this equation is not necessary, as it can be derived from the first equality and the fact that a disjoint union is a countable union.
Aslet
Hello everyone!
I'm studying the physics of complex systems and I'm approaching probability theory.
I understand that we need a ## \sigma-algebra ## and the Kolmogorov axioms in order to define a probability space but then I bumped into the following relation:
$$ p(A_1 \cup A_2 ) = p( A_1 ) + p( A_2 ) - p( A_1 \cap A_2 ) $$
where ## A_1, A_2 ## are two sets of events that satisfy Kolmogorov axioms. I used all the properties i know to understand it but I wasn't able to demonstrate it. The book says that this equation comes from Kolmogorov axioms...
Can you help me?

Physics news on Phys.org
Can you show that if ##A, B## are events with ##B \subseteq A##, then ##P(A \setminus B) = P(A) - P(B)##?
Using this, now write ##A_1 \cup A_2 = A_1 \cup A_2 \setminus (A_1 \cap A_2)##. The right-hand side is a disjoint union and ##A_1 \cap A_2 \subseteq A_2##. Now you are almost there.

(In these cases, it helps to draw Venn diagrams.)

I understand that if ## A_2 \subseteq A_1 ##, then the equation it's easy to understand, more or less. Unfortunately the book doesn't give me this hypothesis. :frown:
Is it possible that the authors forgot about it or is this hypothesis not necessary?

No, ##A_1## and ##A_2## are arbitrary events. It is not necessary to assume that ##A_2 \subseteq A_1##, this is not what I meant.

Do you agree with
$$
A_1 \cup A_2 = A_1 \cup A_2 \setminus (A_1 \cap A_2),
$$
and that this is a disjoint union? If so, then by Kolmogorov's axioms,
$$
P(A_1 \cup A_2) = P(A_1) + P(A_2 \setminus (A_1 \cap A_2)),
$$