1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Abandon hope ye who enter here

1. Apr 17, 2005 #1
    Hi. I'm a freshman and I royally suck at math. I know this isn't really a math forum, but I know physics involves math, which means you guys are probably wicked good. Anyway, I have a bonus question that will earn me a point or two on my next test, but my teacher says only one or two people a year actually solve it. (Because he won't give you points for being on the right track. It is either right, or it isn't)

Anyway, it really is simple, which is why I feel stupid for having to ask it.

He says prove p*q=.25

So I have been trying at it, but like I said, I suck.

p+q=1
    So... p=1/q or.. see I just... it just doesn't make sense.
    Uhm... I don't even know where to start...

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 17, 2005 #2

dextercioby

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

I think your problem asks to prove that the maximum value of the product [itex] pq [/itex] subject to the constraint [itex] p+q=1 [/itex] is 0.25.

Two ways i can think of

1.Without calculus.
    2.Using Lagrange multipliers.

Ring a bell?

Daniel.

4. Apr 18, 2005 #3
    # 1. Rings a bell. He said it could be done using simple college algebra. And uh, what you said about the problem looks about right too.

5. Apr 18, 2005 #4
    Error 404,

If you're really in college and think that p+q=1 means that p=1/q, you don't deserve extra credit on this problem. If someone here helps you get the answer, and you turn it in as your own work, you'll be cheating!

6. Apr 18, 2005 #5

dextercioby

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper