English Tests for Students Abroad: TOEFL, IELTS & ECPE

• Thread starter Nikon33
  • Start date
  • Tags
    English
In summary, the speaker is a student from Greece who is interested in studying Computer Engineering abroad. They have listed some universities in the US and UK to apply to and have been advised to take either a TOEFL or IELTS exam. The speaker has recently taken the FCE exam with a good grade and plans to prepare for the ECPE or CPE exam. They are wondering if having this degree will help skip the application tests and if the ECPE is comparable to TOEFL. It is suggested to check with each university as TOEFL and IELTS are widely accepted and taking other tests may not be necessary.
Nikon33
Hello everyone, I am a student in Greece and I am willing to go abroad for my undergraduate studies.

I am interested in Computer Engineering and I have list some universities in US and UK (most of them in US) to apply .

I have been told that I should either take a TOEFL or IELTS exam before applying.
I just got the FCE exam with a good grade and so I am also going to prepare for the ECPE (or CPE )exam this year.
Is it worth trying to get such a degree ?
Will it help me skip the application tests?
Is ECPE comparable to TOEFL?

Physics news on Phys.org
I think it depends on the university, so you'll have to check with each one of them. But TOEFL and IELTS are the most widely accepted, I believe, and I see no point in trying to take other tests, the costs are probably the same anyway, as well.

What are the different types of English tests available for students studying abroad?

The three most commonly used English tests for students studying abroad are TOEFL, IELTS, and ECPE. These tests assess a student's proficiency in the English language and are widely accepted by universities and colleges around the world.

What is the difference between TOEFL, IELTS, and ECPE?