Do gravitational waves transmit energy in all cases?

In summary: The far field falls off like ##1/r## simply because of conservation of energy.Your nonmathematical description of where gravitational waves "originate" doesn't work. It doesn't work for the same reason that it wouldn't work in E&M.By the way, could you please refrain from using bold face for long blocks of text? It gives the impression that you're shouting. Thanks.In summary, gravitational waves can be either tidal or non-tidal. Non-tidal gravity is what is measured by the Einstein tensor. The far field of a gravitational wave falls off like ##1/r## simply because of conservation of energy.
rdai
I was told that there are two kinds gravitational waves. One dies out as 1/r, another one dies out as 1/r^2. The former is what LIGO detected, the latter is not. While I trust the professional qualification of the person very much, as a non-physics professional, I would like to a second person to confirm that. The following is the context of the conversation I had:

Me:

As a non-physics professional, what I am more interested is not GW but what we can learn from GW about the nature of spacetime. Now we have already learned that spacetime can be curved by a mass...we also know that the change of curvature caused by a mass could be propagating at a finite speed of light...

Now if there is a Frequency of a GW and the frequency could be independent of any oscillating source like the characteristic frequency of a matter, then it means that the spacetime also could RESIST the change of its curvature created by mass...but now the following answer from Jorrie asserts that it is NOT the case:

There will be no GWs seen in the math unless some or other deforming mass is present, at least symbolically, e.g. the mass is just seen as M (or as M1 and M2 in the case of binaries).

That is an important assertive information to me :) Thanks a lot.

However, I am still having some concern about the following statement: