Is a Postdoctoral Position Necessary for Industry Success?

• Other
  • Thread starter EngWiPy
  • Start date
In summary, a PhD is not vocational training. If you want to be a "coder", you probably don't need one. But the question is: why does someone need a PhD if he/she will transition to the industry? Forget about doing what you went to school for in the pure sense, if you have a physics degree, you'll end up doing engineering physics or programming in support of other engineering.
EngWiPy
Hello all,

I have found this https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/why-you-should-quit-your-postdoc-catherine-sorbara-phd?trk=v-feed&trk=v-feed&lipi=urn%3Ali%3Apage%3Ad_flagship3_feed%3B0Sdmz%2FF19OFSLqlQhIrtDA%3D%3D , and from my experience as someone who did ~2-year as a postdoc, I think it says something to be considered. I have spent ~9 years on my master, PhD, and postdoc, and I barely have enough money and experience to land a job in the industry, compared to all my school peers who own cars, and houses, and are now in senior positions because of their experience, and they only have B.Sc. However, the conclusion was that after getting a PhD, the writer suggested to start the transitioning to the industry. But the question is: why does someone need a PhD if he/she will transition to the industry? Through my search for a job in the industry, sure there was some positions required a PhD, but the majority don't.

Just something wanted to share.

Regards,

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
you have enough experience, the issue is does your skill set translate? Forget about doing what you went to school for in the pure sense, if you have a physics degree, you'll end up doing engineering physics or programming in support of other engineering. I will say this much, if you go into industry, you'll double your salary in around 15 years, that doesn't happen in academia too often at that rate.