Academic/Career Crossroads: Teacher to ME to Naval Flight officer....

In summary: My advice for most scientists, engineers, and teachers is that if you've had a job for a few years, and they have not asked you to compromise your integrity, you should seriously consider keeping it, because that next job is a 50/50 proposition unless you are willing to sell your integrity for a paycheck. In teaching, this most often means gifting grades.
Sergio Leal
Hello. I am a teacher about to wrap up his fifth year in May. I started at the very bottom, teaching at risk and worked my way up with the help of my former teachers. I now teach AP Physics 1 and IB Mathematics SL. The whole experience has left me jaded. I gave it my all: my personality, my knowledge, everything. I feel like I'm a purist at heart (i'll explain in a bit).
I succeeded in teaching the at risk students by bringing them to the state standard and thensome but I felt that I never really really cemented the fundamentals, merely covered the gaps.
In the upper level courses that I teach now, I've taught brilliant students but due to the hyper competitive nature of the GPA game, it seems the majority of the students just want to see an A on their transcript.

Don't get me wrong, overall, I have a positive experience with the students and I really enjoy teaching and deriving and explaining concepts to students and also the history behind the great discoveries in science and math, but I knew I wasn't going to teach forever. I may burn out in the classroom (if I already haven't) and I have no interest in becoming a school administrator/principal/etc.