Masters Academic Standing: What is Mine?

• Thread starter Kaleb
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Academic
In summary, the individual is seeking clarification about their academic standing in their first year of a Masters program while filling out grants and proposals. They are unsure if they should select Senior, Masters, or Ph.D. and express concern about potential rejection due to misinformation. It is suggested to call for clarification, but it is noted that in the USA, "senior" typically refers to the last year of undergraduate studies. The individual also suggests the need for a "Bachelors" option for clarity.
Kaleb
Hello,

I am filling out grants and proposals for the Fall term semester. The question I have is what is my Academic standing if it is my first year into the Masters program. The options given are:

Senior
Masters
Ph.D.

I am assuming Senior means undergraduate? So does that mean that my academic standing at the time of starting the program will be Masters? This is very important because any misinformation on a grant or proposal can lead to rejection.

Thanks in advance,

-Mark

Physics news on Phys.org
The best advice I can give is call them up. Since you're currently in the masters program, I would say masters, but if you want to make sure, is there a phone number you can call?

Edit:

I misread it, are you currently a senior in college? I'm pretty sure your academic standing is what you currently are, so you would check senior.

Last edited:
Kaleb said:
I am assuming Senior means undergraduate?

In the USA, "senior" means last year of undergraduate.

Yeah, its really confusing. I guess I will call them up like you suggested. They need a 'Bachelors' button. It's like they went:

Senior
[STRIKE]Bachelors[/STRIKE]
Masters
Ph.D.

"Current level during this program?"

Hello Mark,