1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Acceleration: im just confused

1. Nov 15, 2004 #1

DB

i'm new to physics and im just trying to figure out the force (Newtons) it would take to throw a baseball 100 mph (not concerning the forces of gravity acting upon it just the basic force you would need to throw it at that speed). i have already figured out that 100 mph is equal to a velocity of 44.704 m/s, knowing that the distance from the pitchers mound to home plate is 18.4404 meters and that it would take 0.4125 seconds to reach home plate. and i know the mass of a baseball is about .145 kg. so im trying to fill in Force = Mass x Acceleration. But i guess im doing this wrong because after aplying the formula a = m/s2 (squared) i get a = 108.37333334 m/s/s.

I just dont understand how the acceration per second squared is larger than the velocity per second if acceleration is the rate of change of velocity. did i use the wrong formulas? please help, thanks

Last edited: Nov 15, 2004
  2. jcsd
  3. Nov 15, 2004 #2

ek

Don't square the time.

a=d/t

Edit: d/t? Wow....that's bad.

:eek:

V/T

Last edited: Nov 16, 2004
  4. Nov 15, 2004 #3

cepheid

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Ok...first things first. This is not a formula for acceleration. The equation is not correct. It is true, that acceleration is measured in units of metres per second, per second i.e. m/s2. But if you want to calculate the acceleration, you should use Newton's second law. In this case, I don't think you have enough information to do so, since the force is an unknown as well. From what you have shown, it is not clear how you got your value for a. Could you please show your work in more detail? Thanks. :smile: