Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Accelerometer and gyroscope

1. Apr 5, 2010 #1
    Hi,

I am an engineering student that needs help using an accelerometer and a gyroscope. I'm not sure where to begin. How can I setup the sensors to output readable data to a computer. Do I use a microcontroller? Do I need to program anything? I am just in need of help. Anything would be greatly appreciated. Thank you

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 5, 2010 #2

mgb_phys

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

4. Apr 5, 2010 #3

D H

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

Depending on your application, you might well need to learn about filtering as well. Kalman filters are widely with navigation sensors. In fact, navigation, particular, getting humans to the Moon and back, was the motivating factor that led to the development of this technique.

So what exactly is your application?

=====

Yech. Accerometers do not sense gravity. Nothing can (directly).

5. Apr 6, 2010 #4
    The first thing I do before I start anything is find all the necessary datasheets for the components I am working with. What accel and gyro are you using?

Uh, why not? Every accelerometer I have used detects a gravitational field. I can directly detect gravity. I don't understand this statement.

6. Apr 6, 2010 #5
    Accelerometers measure forces, which get converted into accelerations.

7. Apr 6, 2010 #6

D H

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

Accelerometers cannot, and nothing can, directly detect gravity.