1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Accountant going back to undergraduate to study physics. Advice/criticism needed.

1. Jan 17, 2012 #1
    I'm a 22 year old student who studied economics and accounting in undergrad. In 6 months I will have a C.P.A. license and be starting full time for a big public accounting firm.

Problem is, I now know I want to go into experimental astrophysics. Despite being only 22, I feel pretty old to begin my journey towards a phD. This is especially daunting considering my only background in math/physics is calculus (not yet onto differential equations) and intro level physics. Another obstacle I face is that I am not wealthy (quite the opposite) and have racked up substantial debt in the form of student loans (about $80k).

A lot of people laugh at me when I tell them about my plan, and that's fairly understandable. Nevertheless, I am fully determined and willing to make the sacrifices necessary to do something I'm passionate about. Never before have I been so sure about what I want to do. Now it's all about figuring out how I get there.

Anyway, I'm looking for some advice. I'd also love criticism so I can fully understand what I'm getting into, though I can assure you it will not change my mind.

My plan right now is to work for a year in accounting, making about 55k, and live frugally so that I can pay off as much of my student loans as possible. In the mean time I will take every opportunity to teach myself about physics, math and other sciences. At that point I plan on going back to undergrad full time and getting a degree in astronomy/physics.