Additive Identity in Linear Algebra: V + 0 = V

• Thread starter tc_11
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Identity
In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of the additive identity and its application in vector spaces. The speaker is trying to prove that the additive identity holds in a problem involving 2x2 matrices and vectors, but there is confusion about the expression and the possibility of it not being a vector space. Testing the axioms is suggested to determine which ones hold.
tc_11
Hi,

I am new with linear algebra, and I'm having a hard time wrapping my mind around the 0 vector and the additive identity v + 0 = v, where 0 is the 0 vector.
If I had a 2x2 matrix, and v + w = C + (C^T)*D ... (where (C^T) is the transpose, v & w are vectors, and C & D are matrices)... would the additive identity hold? I feel like it wouldn't, because I don't see how it would be unique... but I think I may be wrong.. can someone please help?

Physics news on Phys.org
I can't make sense of your expression, how does adding two vectors get you a 2x2 matrix? Are you confusing something here, or am I the confused one?

Anyway, if the additive identity does not hold, you're not dealing with a vector space and all bets are off (as far as linear algebra is concerned). One of the requirements of a vector space [tex]V[/tex] is that there exists an element [tex]\mathbf{0} \in V[/tex] such that [tex]\mathbf{v} + \mathbf{0} = \mathbf{v}[/tex] for all [tex]\mathbf{v} \in V[/tex].

That's what I'm trying to prove though, that the additive identity v + 0 = v does in fact hold, and if not it's not a vector space, but we have to test the axioms anyway to see which ones do hold.
Addition of 2 vectors in this problem translates to:
vector v := C (where C is a 2x2 matrix)
vector w:= D (where D is a 2x2 matix)
(v+w):= C + (C^T)D
so i would set up my equation as v + 0 =? v
C + (C^T)D =? C