Additivity of riemann stieltjes integral

In summary, the additivity property of the Riemann-Stieltjes integral states that the integral over the union of two disjoint intervals is equal to the sum of the individual integrals over each interval. This property differs from the linearity property, which applies to any linear combination of functions. The additivity property allows for easier calculation and integration of piecewise functions. However, it only holds for disjoint intervals and cannot be extended to overlapping intervals. The additivity property of the Riemann-Stieltjes integral is a generalization of the additivity property of the Riemann integral, as it allows for a more flexible choice of integrator.
gotjrgkr

Homework Statement

Hi! I'm studying line integral in vector calculus and I've faced a difficulty related with the additivity of line integral.
I really hope to get an answer for my question through this site.

(2.17) Theorem
: If [itex]\int[/itex]fd[itex]\phi[/itex] from a to b exists and a<c<b, then [itex]\int[/itex]fd[itex]\phi[/itex] from a to c and [itex]\int[/itex]fd[itex]\phi[/itex] from c to b both exist and
[itex]\int[/itex]fd[itex]\phi[/itex]from a to b = [itex]\int[/itex]fd[itex]\phi[/itex] from a to c + [itex]\int[/itex]fd[itex]\phi[/itex] from c to b.

I refer to this theorem in the text measure and integral by wheeden and zygmund.

The book let's me know the fact such that the converse of the theorem is not true if both f and [itex]\phi[/itex] have discontinuity at c.

What I want to know is to check if following statement is true; [Suppose a<c<b. Assume that not both f and [itex]\phi[/itex] are discontinuous at c. If [itex]\int[/itex]fd[itex]\phi[/itex]from a to b and [itex]\int[/itex]fd[itex]\phi[/itex]from c to b exist, then [itex]\int[/itex]fd[itex]\phi[/itex]from a to b exists and