Should I Pursue Physics with a Right-Brained Mindset?

• Thread starter TheArtist
  • Start date
  • Tags
In summary: You can try to learn more about these subjects by taking more classes and reading books on them. You don't have to choose one over the other, you can have both.
TheArtist
Hi there,
I'm new to the forum. My concern is this: I am very interested in physics and was thinking about pursuing it as a career, but I don't feel I'm smart enough to do so. I'm extremely right-brained - I'm an artist and have no problem grasping the concepts of art and literature. Math is not my strongest point, but I do well in my algebra and geometry classes. I haven't had a chance to take the more advanced science and math classes since I have only just completed my freshman year in high school this spring. What do you think? Would you say stick to the more creative careers or try to expand my knowledge of science and math?

Physics news on Phys.org
You have lots of time to decide.

Rather than classifying yourself as left- or right-brained from the start of high school, take the courses that interest you the most. Don't be afraid to challenge yourself either. Read up on your interests outside of the classroom too. That way you can build up a reasonable base of experience on which you can make decisions about subjects you want to pursue in university - if you decide to go that route.

You're way too young to think you're not made for a certain career path. Just take more science and math classes and maybe read a few books on the subject and if it doesn't peak your interest, then it might not be for you. As far as being good enough to be a physicist, it just takes a lot of work. Some people have a natural ability to do physics, but it just means less work, not no work.