1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Advice for a new member?

1. Aug 19, 2010 #1
    Hi there,
    I'm new to the forum. My concern is this: I am very interested in physics and was thinking about pursuing it as a career, but I don't feel I'm smart enough to do so. I'm extremely right-brained - I'm an artist and have no problem grasping the concepts of art and literature. Math is not my strongest point, but I do well in my algebra and geometry classes. I haven't had a chance to take the more advanced science and math classes since I have only just completed my freshman year in high school this spring. What do you think? Would you say stick to the more creative careers or try to expand my knowledge of science and math?

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 19, 2010 #2

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

You have lots of time to decide.

Rather than classifying yourself as left- or right-brained from the start of high school, take the courses that interest you the most. Don't be afraid to challenge yourself either. Read up on your interests outside of the classroom too. That way you can build up a reasonable base of experience on which you can make decisions about subjects you want to pursue in university - if you decide to go that route.

4. Aug 19, 2010 #3

Pengwuino

Gold Member

You're way too young to think you're not made for a certain career path. Just take more science and math classes and maybe read a few books on the subject and if it doesn't peak your interest, then it might not be for you. As far as being good enough to be a physicist, it just takes a lot of work. Some people have a natural ability to do physics, but it just means less work, not no work.

5. Aug 19, 2010 #4