Advice for a returning student

• Thread starter MEStudent
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Student
In summary, the individual is seeking advice on how to make themselves a more desirable candidate for employers as they continue their education towards a Bachelor's degree in Mechanical Engineering. They are a returning student at the age of 26 and have about 3 1/2 to 4 years left before graduation. They are concerned about being competitive in the job market at the age of 30 with no applicable job experience, and being a stay-at-home dad for the past couple of years. They plan to take internships to gain experience and are wondering if it would be advised to continue on to a Master's degree. The individual shouldn't stress about their age as their life experience may contribute to their ability to focus and be a better student. They
MEStudent
Hello,

I am seeking advice as I continue my education towards a bacholers degree in Mechanical Engineering. I am a returning student at the "old" age of 26 and since my studies before returning to school were in communications, mostly only electives, humanities, and a few core credits are going towards my ME degree. So I have about 3 1/2 to 4 years left before graduation. It's that long, because as a returning student I haven't actively practiced mathematics for several years, so I am starting with college algebra and taking pre-calc, and pre-chem as well, which are not on the degree's course requirements. It adds time and money, but I want a solid foundation, not just a passing grade.