1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Advice for a Sophomore

1. Mar 17, 2005 #1
    I am a 19 year old sophomore at a state university. The budget at my school's Physics and Astronomy department is about 700,000$ a year, and we have about 120 students majoring. After this year, I have taken all the courses I need to graduate in physics except for a year long QM 2. I have very little money and qualify for financial aid.

I have several questions:

1) Should I push (take on 21 credits a semester) to graduate from my current school with a bachelors by next year, and rush to grad school? Or should I instead transfer to a better undergrad school my senior year to take more physics courses?

2)If I plan on transfering to a better school as an undergraduate, should I plan on going to grad school there as well?

3) My grades are all A's, and I took a lot of classes fast, but I don't think A's from a second rate college will distinguish me. How will I get accepted in to a good school? Will undergrad schools look at a GRE score?

4) If I go to a better school, the only money I will have is whatever wages I earn from my job (on or off campus). How good do you have to be to get a free ride? (as a graduate or undergraduate).
  2. jcsd
  3. Mar 17, 2005 #2
    First off, what state university are you going to?

1)Take as many courses as you think you can. But don't bite off more than you can chew! It would definitely help with your financial situation to get through college asap. You could also try SallieMae or Citibank loans. These are bank loans that can cover full tuition and have great interest rates and payment plans.