1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Advice needed for composite

1. Feb 7, 2009 #1
    Advice needed for composite....

Hello guys. Newbie here this is my first post ;-). I am a 2nd year Eng. Mech. Univ student.

An assignment for one of the credits is to design a composite material (made up of 2 materials)of rectangular section width 30mm and thickness 20mm, length 400mm. The composite must NOT include a metal material while having good strength and rigidity with low density.

The component will be tested by simply supporting at each end and a heavy load strapped at midpoint (say 60kg). Deflections must be small and within elastic range.

Now for the life of me excluding carbon fiber, teflon and a few other exotic materials what 2 materials and bonding method could I use to make the section strong enough?? I have access to all kind of woods and many polymers (ABS, Polycarbonate, Polyethylene...etc). Any suggestions guys? Thanks for any help!

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 7, 2009 #2
    Re: Advice needed for composite....

Kind of a weird assignment because many of the exotics are considered strong because they flex (and distribute energy), not because they are stiff. Think about ballistics and US army helmets deflecting bullets.

I can think of one case for an airline cockpit door which was too stiff and did not deflect the test blow of an axe. I'm fuzzy on the details but either the hinges failed from the shock or the axe penetrated the skin.

Do you have access to an autoclave? F1 car body shells (baked/composite/kevlar) to protect the driver are very stiff, like cast iron (almost rings when knocked on). It's the things around this shell which act as the crush zone and absorb the impact protecting from sudden deceleration.

4. Feb 7, 2009 #3

nvn

Science Advisor