Advice on Catching Up After 5 Years Away

• Thread starter J.J.T.
  • Start date
In summary: I think you should stick with your original plan and major in something you are passionate about.It just seems like I'm under-prepared coming into the program. I thought I could hit the ground running but playing catch-up is becoming extremely stressful.You are underprepared for grad school? Why? You have a degree from a prestigious university. What is the problem?Many of the people I've talked to in the department (mostly phd students) and many of the users here are saying that the likelihood of actually doing the work we get degrees for are slim.Is this a problem for you? If so, why?It just seems like I'm under-pre
J.J.T.
I always did well in HS , but never really felt like I had any idea what I wanted to do. Seeing so many of my peers either jumping from one dead-end job to another, still living at home, and generally making no forward progress I graduated and made the decision to join the armed forces. 5 years later I finish my contract, brush up on my algebra take the SAT and apply to schools finally having an idea what I might like to major in. It seems like most of the people that are now my peers are just miles ahead. I'm catching up in mathematics courses that they've taken in HS and I've forgotten. I'm not exactly doing poorly, but also not doing as well as I'd like.

Having already worked for 5 years the prospect of spending so many more years of school is somewhat daunting and I'm thinking of changing my major to Env Science which would allow me to rejoin the workforce much more quickly. Many of the people I've talked to in the department (mostly phd students) and many of the users here are saying that the likelihood of actually doing the work we get degrees for are slim.

It just seems like I'm under-prepared coming into the program. I thought I could hit the ground running but playing catch-up is becoming extremely stressful.