1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Schools Advice on Course at University

1. Oct 5, 2008 #1

I am form Great Britain and would greatly appreciate any advice that you could give me on which course to study at university.

I am currently studying for my A2's in Physics, Maths and Chemistry so I will be heading off to University next year hopefully. The problem, however, is I am unsure which course to apply for or which one will benefit me the most.

I have created a short list of these 5 courses:
    Electrical and Electronic Engineering
    Electronic and Software Engineering
    Computer Science
    Aerospace Engineering

Ideally I would like to do the masters in the courses as I feel I would be able to cope with it.

Basically what i would like advice on is the type of career I would be likely to have from each of the courses. Aswell as things like the availability of jobs and average pay.

I have an interest in all these courses. I would try to say what specifically interests me but it's hard to say. I know that I enjoy knowing how things work. I also have a keen interest in Computers, I built my first one when i was 15 and enjoy learning about them. I could see myself getting a sense of satisfaction after writing successful code. I also enjoy the manufacturing of microprosessors side of things. Managing and building a powerful server farm could also be interresting

As for aerospace I think i would enjoy working on a team to design, build and test a rocket or some other flight machine. An un-maned solar powered reconnasance plane for example.

With regards to Physics I would find working on renewable energy exciting and increasing the efficiency of systems. I am also interested in nuclear and particle physics.