1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Advice on thesis work

1. May 23, 2015 #1
    Hi, I am a fourth year undergraduate student currently undertaking my thesis coursework. My basic physics knowledge level includes Classical Mechanics (Marion and Thornton), Electrodynamics (Griffiths), Quantum Mechanics (Griffiths), and Statistical Mechanics (Blundell).

Now, part of my thesis coursework is to read and understand the following paper: http://arxiv.org/abs/hep-th/0511156.

However, I am finding it a bit hard-going as there are quantum-field-theoretic concepts in the paper which I am not used to.

I wonder if it's common in thesis coursework to work on material beyond the grasp of students.

2. jcsd
  3. May 23, 2015 #2

mfb

2016 Award

Staff: Mentor

What is your thesis about?
    It should not involve understanding that paper if you never had a quantum field theory lecture.

4. May 23, 2015 #3

ZapperZ

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

Who is the instructor who is supervising you in your thesis coursework? Can't you ask him/her for help, especially when he/she is taking your tuition money?

Zz.

5. May 23, 2015 #4
    Well, actually, it's not that difficult, to be honest.:smile:

I understand most of the paper, and whatever I don't understand, I can always look up in textbooks. For instance, I had a bit of trouble understanding what the classical Euclidean action ##S_{cl}[\phi] = \int d^{4}x (\frac{1}{2}(\partial_{\mu} \phi)^2 + U(\phi))## meant, but Shankar's 'Principles of Quantum Mechanics' has chapters on Path Integral Formalism that discuss this concept, and so does Goldstein's 'Classical Mechanics.'