1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Advice please, I don't know what Master's degree my BSc qualifies me for

1. May 18, 2009 #1
    Hi, I've been lurking around the forums unregistered for a while now and it's been very helpful, I just recently registered for specific advice.

I'm a first year student at the Faculty of Engineering, Alexandria University, Egypt. I'm taking a computer and communication engineering BSc, and due to some recent revelations I decided I don't want to go on living in Egypt anymore and would like to do a Master's degree somewhere else at a good university, even hoping for MIT (I would settle for any respected university, but there aren't many that offer need-blind financial aid, without which it would be almost impossible for me to get any degrees at all). I checked out the http://www.eecs.mit.edu/grad/areas.html" [Broken] at MIT and I was very disappointed to find that according to any "undergraduate preparations" on the site, I'm not prepared at all. They did mention however, in area I, that "There is absolutely no dishonor in taking MIT undergraduate courses to bolster your undergraduate background. This is very common in the Area". But this doesn't make any sense to me, because why would MIT admit someone who's under-qualified from the first place?!

I'm gonna list the courses in my programme in the hope that someone would tell me about somewhere good at which I would qualify for graduate studies. And also if I have any change at getting accepted at MIT or one of the top universities if I maintain a GPA of around 3.9... I'm particularly concerned because they just started this program this year, so there aren't any graduates I could ask or anything.

First year:
    Math I (differential calculus)